You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2016-07-26 11:44:36

mlevitt
Member
Registered: 2016-02-20

Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

I have a 2015/16 MacBook 12" Model A1534 (http://www.apple.com/macbook/)

I turn the unit on and hold down the alt key until all the boot options show.
I select any of my Boot Sets. I immediately see the Spinning Globe which tells me the system
is booting of a network device:

[img=]https://support.apple.com/library/content/dam/edam/applecare/images/en_US/osx/mac-globe-screen-icon.png[/img]

This spins for a while as per normal and then I get the Prohibitory symbol (Mac couldn't find a valid System Folder to start up from)

[img=]https://support.apple.com/library/content/dam/edam/applecare/images/en_US/osx/mac-prohibit-symbol-screen-icon.png[/img]

Has anybody successfully created a Boot Set with one of these MacBooks and Deployed an image to one of these machines

I have installed 10.10 on this unit, created a Boot Set and it does not work
I have installed 10.11 on this unit, created a Boot Set and it does not work

If anybody has done this or can steer me in the right direction any help will be much appreciated

Offline

#2 2016-08-01 18:42:18

computeronix
Member
Registered: 2014-06-27

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

Same issue :(

Offline

#3 2016-08-01 20:19:40

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

You mention you have "a 2015/16 Macbook 12" inch "A1534" model.
Which is it? Do you have both models?

Use the 2016 model (released in April) for your NBI.  It should be backward compatible if you install the combo update for 10.11.6 (released in July) on it.

Offline

#4 2016-08-01 20:32:28

computeronix
Member
Registered: 2014-06-27

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

For Mine, 2016 MacBook and it does not work same issue as discussed above even with combo update in July

Offline

#5 2016-08-01 21:53:59

meca62793
Member
Registered: 2015-11-06

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

I suspect a nbi will have to be made from a MacBook.

Offline

#6 2016-08-01 22:23:27

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

I'm wondering how you installed 10.10 on an Early 2016 model Macbook.
That model shipped with 10.11.4.
I would expect it to be problematic with 10.10 on it.

Try zapping the PRAM, then completely reinstalling the OS from scratch.

Build your NBI from that machine after reinstalling the OS.
Also, what is the network connection for that machine?

Last edited by Meat (2016-08-01 22:26:02)

Offline

#7 2016-08-02 06:42:59

mlevitt
Member
Registered: 2016-02-20

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

We think the network connection is the problem
It wont see the NBI correctly over wifi

We have an ordered an APPLE USB to Ethernet Converter which we will connect to our APPLE USB C to USB Connector
We have spoken to our local apple supplier and they tell me that when you boot into firmware only APPLE certified dongles work
and not third party

Im hoping to have the dongle later today so I can test and put this issue to bed!!!

Offline

#8 2016-09-20 16:15:45

computeronix
Member
Registered: 2014-06-27

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

Tried something crazy and this is now fixed

Upgraded my client machine to macOS Sierra (10.12) -- then made a DeployStudio netboot set and it works perfectly!

Something in El Capitan must of broke when making netboot sets

Offline

#9 2016-09-21 09:34:49

darkmuncan
Member
Registered: 2014-05-28

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

> computeronix wrote:

> Tried something crazy and this is now fixed

Upgraded my client machine to macOS Sierra (10.12) -- then made a DeployStudio netboot set and it works perfectly!

Something in El Capitan must of broke when making netboot sets



Thats not crazy, thats just smart :)

And makes sense, did you use DS 1.7.5 or 1.7.4.4?

Offline

#10 2016-09-21 18:42:06

computeronix
Member
Registered: 2014-06-27

Re: Cannot deploy to "New" MacBook 12" Model A1534

1.7.4.4  (i am sure 1.7.5 will work fine with this too)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB