You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2011-04-28 23:12:01

carlocarlo
Member
Registered: 2011-02-04

Need help to understand ds_finalize.sh and image clean up process

Hello, I created two images with Deploy Studio.
After I restore the first one, each client first reboot once with a "blue screen with some log appearing" and DS does some post image processing on its own.
I have not created any workflow, it's just an image being restored as is and the clients created with this base image works fine and I can bind them to my Open Directory server.

When I restore the second image, clients reboot (no blue screen) and works fine but the cleaning up process seems not to be completed, as I get duplicated records when (secure) binding them in Open Directory (LKDC/SHA1 entries) I have to manually clean up plus I get this message repeating within Console:
............
21/04/11 09.27.02    com.apple.launchd[1]    (com.deploystudio.finalizeScript[120]) posix_spawn("/etc/deploystudio/bin/ds_finalize.sh", ...): No such file or directory
21/04/11 09.27.02    com.apple.launchd[1]    (com.deploystudio.FinalizeApp[121]) posix_spawn("/etc/deploystudio/Applications/Finalize.app/Contents/MacOS/Finalize", ...): No such file or directory
............

I think I created the two images the same way, with DS "create image" standard workflow.
Why is that they don't behave the same way plus I have issues with LKDC ?
Many thnaks for your help
Ciao
Carlo

Last edited by carlocarlo (2011-04-28 23:15:23)

Offline

#2 2011-04-28 23:40:24

dave.watkins
Member
Registered: 2009-12-17

Re: Need help to understand ds_finalize.sh and image clean up process

There is a tickbox (can't remember if it's in image creation or restore that is called something like "Remove machine dependant files" which is what does all this. Might be worth confirming tht tickbox is checked

Offline

#3 2011-04-28 23:52:45

carlocarlo
Member
Registered: 2011-02-04

Re: Need help to understand ds_finalize.sh and image clean up process

Hello and thank you for your hint.
That option was enabled as it is the default creation/restore tasks in Deploy Studio I used with both images...
What else could it be?
I am also trying to understand what is the expected/default behavior, I mean, should the first boot always be with the "blue screen" and post restore processing (even without additional task/scripts within a workflow) or directly at login window ?
Many thanks to all
CIao
Carlo

Last edited by carlocarlo (2011-04-29 00:01:06)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB